- This topic has 3 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 23 years, 9 months ago by .
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Home › Forums › Archives › Instant Messaging › AIM Support › Can someone else clone my screen name?
Hello everyone, I am new here. I am trying to solve a problem for my daughter. She is on AIM ALL THE TIME! that is not my 1st problem, it seems someone(s) is able to get her password and get her kicked off by logging on somewhere else (or again) with with her screen name. I just happened to be home today, and I noticed it happened again. While I closed all the windows I had open, I noticed a small box with a progress bar reading “unclonig”. I am a total newbie at this as I haven’t personally used any instant messaging system. So in layman’s terms, is it possible someone else is cloning her screen name? Thanks
You can’t “clone” a screenname. However, you may want to run a virus check to make sure that you haven’t got any virus on your computer that could steal passwords. In addition to that, you can use AdAware to check that your computer is free from spyware.
If she has aim+, thats just the program shutting down. aim+ has cloning, which enables you to have multiple copies of aim running at the same time. it has nothing to do with hacking/spying/anything
additionaly, the best way to stop other people from signing on her screen name is to change the password
also, i installed aim on a public computer once, and forgot to uncheck the save password and auto sign on boxes. everytime that someone opened aim, i got kicked off at home.
but to re-emphasize, CHANGE THE PASSWORD. that will stop other people from using her name
The uncloning box is AIM+ like “ifeelgueasy” said… what could be the case, is if AIM was cloned so there was more the one copy open at a time, and you were signed on with the name on one.. and then hit signon with the name on the other. It would kick the first one off, causing it to display the “this screenname has been logged on at another location” message.