Home › Forums › Archives › Instant Messaging › Windows Live Messenger Support › Complex question about deleted contacts.
- This topic has 4 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 20 years ago by
h3xx1.
-
AuthorPosts
-
September 20, 2006 at 12:27 pm #25000
nikelaj
MemberHi All,
I am using Live Messenger build 8.0.812.00
My main problem is to re-add one contact back into my live messenger contact list without alerting him/her. Please read more about this story as following. I couldn’t find any information on the internet about this matter and your answers are most valuable for me.I deleted one contact from my live messenger contact list accidently, and I wish to add her back into my contact list. But I want to prevent her to receive any alert from “live messenger” mentioning that I have added her into my contacts.
Just only I deleted her from my messenger’s contact list NOT ALSO “from hotmail contacts”. (By the way I am sure that she didn’t delete me from her contact list. If she blocked I don’t know.)
Afterwards I have tried to check something to fix this issue. Just I placed live messenger’s “tools” menu then “options” and “privacy” tab, finally found her hotmail mail account on the “allowed contacts” listbox.
Then.. I have right clicked her account there were two options as “Add to Contacts” and “Move to Blocked List”. Also there is “Delete” option but not active. (Can’t be selected.)
Thus, slightly I have added back her into my contact list by simply selecting her account and then clicking “add to contact list” option. Can I make sure that she hasn’t been alerted by messenger system that I have re-added her?
Furthermore.. in “allowed contacts” listbox, I have checked some of my old contacts’ mail accounts those I haven’t communicated for a long time.
So, while right clicking on their mail accounts, found “delete” option is selectable for some of them. Does that mean they have already deleted me from their contact list?Thanks in advance for your help and patience for such a long story,
NikoSeptember 20, 2006 at 10:53 pm #152519h3xx1
MemberIt shouldn’t be a problem just add her again and she will auto be put back on your messenger list. As far as she is concerned, you haven’t been taken off of her list so you shouldn’t be added again.
If you want to test this theory, try(if you have more than one msn account) doing it to yourself, or another friend that wouldn’t be offended if you blocked him/her.
Adam
September 20, 2006 at 11:13 pm #152517princeG
ParticipantAs long as he has you on her list, she will NOT get notified that you want to add her.
As for your second question, you’re right, if the delete option is enabled then it means they have deleted you from their list.
September 20, 2006 at 11:17 pm #152520h3xx1
MemberWell put Mr.G
Better he hear it from a proper member I guess!
September 20, 2006 at 11:20 pm #152518princeG
ParticipantWelcome to the bigblueball h3xx1 😉
-
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.