Home › Forums › Archives › Instant Messaging › Windows Live Messenger Support › Disable reconnecting
- This topic has 8 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 18 years, 10 months ago by
Doris Kenney.
-
AuthorPosts
-
October 1, 2007 at 4:27 pm #27741
sensitive
MemberIs there a way to disable the reconnecting to messenger?
October 1, 2007 at 8:28 pm #164521Doris Kenney
ParticipantHmmmm….I’m not sure. You could try going to Tools/Options/General and uncheck the box for “Allow Automatic Sign In When Connected to the Internet.”
I”m not sure if that will work or not but it’s about the closest thing I can think of that would. Let me know if that works.
-Doris-
October 25, 2007 at 8:07 pm #164516sensitive
MemberThe “Allow Automatic Sign In When Connected to the Internet.” is uncheck. When I sign on to msn sometimes it disconnects and the few mins later it auto reconnects. Still does that. I don’t want the auto reconnect. I want to be disable or something.
October 25, 2007 at 9:32 pm #164522Doris Kenney
ParticipantOn the login screen, do you have “sign in automatically” if so, you would want it unchecked as well.
-Doris-October 26, 2007 at 7:23 am #164517sensitive
MemberYes its unchecked.
October 26, 2007 at 12:46 pm #164523Doris Kenney
ParticipantWell, I can honesty say I don’t know a way to do it from WLM directly if those 2 blocks are unchecked. You could try changing the “remember me” setting on the login page.
In theory, if you disconnect, and it doesn’t remember your login, it shouldn’t reconnect. That said, when there is an odd service interruption or ISP drop, where you didn’t choose to sign out, I don’t know for sure WLM treats it the same as a real logout. Kind of sounds like it doesn’t if it’s still auto connecting with the blocks unchecked. However, perhaps this will be a workable solution….
If you don’t already have it, download Plus!. I found this script Sign-Back-In that allows you to set the number of minutes from the time you are logged out to sign back in. I’ve not tried it, but if that script will accept some huge number of minutes, it should (in theory) stop you from reconnecting automatically.
Let me know if this accomplishes what you’re trying to do.
-Doris-October 27, 2007 at 12:23 am #164519Philip
Moderatorsensitive;223477 wrote:Is there a way to disable the reconnecting to messenger?I don’t know why you would want to do that in the first place. The auto-reconnect is basically a convenience for WLM users, otherwise you’d have to log in manually whenever the connection terminates. For me that’s one more annoying chore to do.
October 27, 2007 at 7:12 am #164518sensitive
MemberPhilip;224141 wrote:I don’t know why you would want to do that in the first place. The auto-reconnect is basically a convenience for WLM users, otherwise you’d have to log in manually whenever the connection terminates. For me that’s one more annoying chore to do.The reason I want to disable the option is if I don’t want to sign back on automatically. Then friends message me right away. I think its annoying the auto reconnect. Maybe I don’t want to connect back again.
October 27, 2007 at 9:09 am #164520Philip
ModeratorSet your status to Appear Offline, which is what I do whenever I don’t want to be disturbed. This can also be set through the main sign-in window (then it becomes the default).
-
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.