Home › Forums › Archives › Instant Messaging › Windows Live Messenger Support › Display picture box gone question
- This topic has 2 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 18 years, 9 months ago by
Doris Kenney.
-
AuthorPosts
-
January 16, 2008 at 1:10 pm #28161
Dargon
MemberRecently i had this strange thing that something altered the “show my display picture and allow others to see it option” i had logged out and that option was checked and everyone could see the display picture and everything because i have no touched that option basically since the installation of live, but then i log out and log back in at a later time (the next day), and find out the option has been unchecked upon after login, im sure i have not altered it the day before, and noone else but me has access to this account, anyways my question is, if some unkown intruder logs in (hacker maybe?), can he uncheck the option and when i login later does what he alters in options will display the same thing as when i login and check the options?, for example if he changes that display picture and unchecks it, and perhaps a few other option, will those option settings save on my live client aswell, as in when i login all those options that were unchecked will actually be unchecked on my option settings aswell? if you know what i mean.Nothing else got changed though except that display picture setting in options, which is strange since it would no uncheck itself.
Well if someone might know the answer or a guessing answer, would be appreciated, first thing this unusual activity happened, well thank you.
January 16, 2008 at 1:35 pm #166134Doris Kenney
ParticipantThe settings you choose are specific to the options you have chosen for a given account and to the machine you are logging in on. So, if you have 2 accounts with separate settings on the same machine, WLM will remember that they are different and adjust them when you log in under each one. But if you have 2 machines and you have different settings on each one, the settings will reflect whatever you chose for that account on that machine – and they can indeed be different. Your settings are not stored on the WLM servers.
That said, there is one option that will carry over. If you have the Live Sign-In assistant installed, and on the Tools/Options/General screen you check the box for “Use the same display picture and personal message wherever I sign in” option, those 2 items should follow you regardless of what machine you log in on.
On the Tools/Options/Security tab there is a box for “This is a shared computer don’t store my address book, display picture, or personal message on it.” Just for fun I tried checking it to see if it would override either of the options to use the same display pic/msg or the show my display pic option and it does not.
As for the box to “Show my display pictures and allow others to see it” it seems more likely it simply got unchecked by accident when you were checking other settings. For someone to make this type of change to your settings they would have to be logging in on the same machine as you use. Has this happened more than once? If not – I’d not spend much time worrying about it.
-Doris-
January 16, 2008 at 2:48 pm #166133Dargon
Memberhmm i see, yes noone else logged into this machine i never had a problem of someone logging in aswell, and yes the display picture happened only once, it could of been an accident, i try to recall if i have gone into that section of options on done so but i cant seem to recall that i have, it could of been some sort of unoticed accident that you wont be able to recall regardless maybe, some of that sort, well thank you for clearing that up, seems like it was really unchecked on my machine afterall, yea ill let this pass by, and see if it will happen again later on.
thanks for the response and the help đŸ™‚
-
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.