Home › Forums › Archives › Instant Messaging › Windows Live Messenger Support › Email Addresses in ‘View Contacts who have added you’
- This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated 19 years ago by
Doris Kenney.
-
AuthorPosts
-
August 28, 2007 at 3:31 am #27563
staciejaye
MemberSo I’ve done a search for this topic and couldn’t find anything like it.
I deleted a contact from my list, when I went to check ‘View’ to see if they still had me added, it showed their nickname which says to me that they do still have me on their list.
However…a couple days later I went to check if they still have me added and instead of their nickname, it just shows their email address. So I’m not sure what that means…
I checked Block/Delete Checker and saw that it doesn’t show this person has deleted or blocked me. So if it doesn’t show their nickname anymore, just their actual email address…what does that mean? Am I still on their list? Have they blocked me but kept me on their list? Anyone know???
August 28, 2007 at 12:20 pm #163804Doris Kenney
ParticipantWelcome to BBB staciejay! Glad you found the forum. Understanding the way WLM “deletes” contacts can be a bit frustrating.
By “view” I think you mean you went to Tools / Options / Privacy & looked at the allowed vs. blocked list in your WLM? If you deleted the contact, they should be showing on the right hand side of the screen in the blocked column. Right click on the person’s name (or email). If there is an option to ‘Delete’, they have deleted you from their contact list as well & you may remove them completely.
If not – you are still on their contact list (although maybe blocked) & you won’t be able to remove the name completely until they delete you as well. It’s nothing to worry about though. If you removed & blocked the contact – they can’t see you online & any IM’s they send won’t come through.
Block checkers do not offer a reliable way to tell if you’ve been blocked & drop more spyware on your computer than it’s worth. If you used one of the online ones, I’d recommend a thorough spyware scan as soon as feasible.
As for the email address vs the nickname? I wouldn’t worry too much about that. I’ve seen it before as well. It doesn’t mean anything in the scheme of things as to whether the contact has removed you or not. I’ve noticed it particularly with my contacts from Yahoo or ones have used an alternate email besides a hotmail account to sign up for WLM.
Hope this helps in some way…if you still have questions please post back and let me know.
-Doris- -
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.