Home › Forums › Archives › Instant Messaging › Windows Live Messenger Support › Problem (possibly someone on the account)
- This topic has 8 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 19 years, 5 months ago by
Dargon.
-
AuthorPosts
-
May 13, 2007 at 3:04 am #26960
Dargon
MemberHello recently a big problem has occured, i don’t know if someone has logged into my account and is deleting people Slowly one by one but they are taking their time with it, here is what happened.
I log in today, and all of a sudden i see a deleted contact in Non-instant messaging contacts list, i don’t know how the contact got there because i never deleted him so he can be added to the list, then i log in the next day and he is in that list and when i check i “see who has added you to their contact list” the contact is not on the list anymore, he is also gone from the allow/block list, but what i dont understand is if he did delete me since he isnt on the list, how can live automatically put him under the non-instant messaging contacs list? isnt it supposed to add him to the hotmail contacts if i delete him on my end? not on his? or can live do this automatically if he deletes me on his end?
Is it possible someone accessed my account and deleted him from my account which is why it would be on the list?
May 13, 2007 at 3:47 am #161136PolarBearNPR
ParticipantThat is strange, Dargon. Does anyone use your computer or know your passwords and such? I look forward to seeing what the answer is . . . a strange situation, indeed.
May 13, 2007 at 3:57 am #161138Dargon
Membernoone uses it just me, i agree it is strange but what i dont understand is on the same day that the contact got transfered to the non-instant messaging contacts also dissappeard from the see who has added you to their contact list, yesterday they were on the list their name also magically dissapear on the allow/block list, if someone does have access im not sure why they would delete it one by one and not just mess up the entire account. Basically i login and poof he is on that list deleted from my list, and on who has added you to their list is also gone, so i guess they were on their account but im not sure can live do this automatically if i don’t do this myself?
May 13, 2007 at 9:53 am #161139Dargon
MemberI managed to read the troubleshooting thread where it says why do the contacts dissapear which i guess it seems this could be the case, and which is why when they dissapear it automatically goes to the non-instant messaging contacts list. I heard if they dont sign in for morth than 2 months then it automatically removes it from my contact list by itself??
could it be because they havent signed in so long and live checks those who havent been on for 2 months then it deletes them off my list all those who havent on for over 2 months? or live doesnt do that even if they havent been on or so long?
could that be a possibility? if so then i still cant explain why it would go to the non-instant messaging list unless its supposed to do that, and when live deletes it because of 2 months inactive, do they also delete the contact from see who has added you to their contact list along with deleting it from my own contact list, if so does that mean that their account is removed suspended on their list since it removes the contact from the “see who has added yout the their list” List?.
just wondering if all of this could be due to the 2 months inactivity, and if it does is it supposed to do it this way? automatically remove it from my list by itself? Including the contact from the allow/block list?
If it does infact because of the 2 month period, it doesnt seem to be deleting all users who have been away for more than 2 months, some seem to be still on list even after almost an year, or atleast i think.
Thanks
May 13, 2007 at 11:11 am #161134Anna
ParticipantDargon, I don’t know the answer, but at the very least to ensure it isn’t actually someone else accessing your account, I’d recommend just changing your password, and see if it continues.
If you want to be absolutely sure, try doing a system scan for any key loggers, etc.
May 13, 2007 at 11:17 am #161140Dargon
Memberhello, yea the computer checks out fine, i would do a password change but i have a problem with the msn website itself, it just keeps on saying the the page cannot be found so there is no way to change it. although this problem started many months ago and not recently (when it comes the the website problem)
Do you think it could be possible that the 2 months inactive accounts is a possibility of why the contact is not on the list anymore, and on the allow/block list including the see who has added you to their list?
that could be possible right anna? since it could be also why it just magically dissapeared of the contact list. I guess this could explain why their name is gone from the see who has added you to their list, list, it was gone from contact list, the allow/block list, and especially from the list so you can see who has added me, its only explanation probably why the who has added me list is missing their name and all of this happened on the same day, i doubt someone was on my account deleting that specific person while that person was also online and was also thinking of deleting me aswell, nothing else was touched.
could be possible?
May 13, 2007 at 2:14 pm #161137Philip
ModeratorHi Dargon:
Refer to detn8r’s post here (#16) which talks about the problem you were asking and offers some solutions.Note that users with paid hotmail accounts are not deleted by the servers even after a long period of inactivity. However, non-paying users will be deleted after 60 days of inactivity.
May 13, 2007 at 8:20 pm #161135Stigmata
MemberWindows Live Messenger automatically syncs your contact list with hotmail (if you are using the hotmail webmail service). When you delete a contact you will be asked if you wish to delete him from your hotmail contacts as well.
If you don’t he will be added to a group called Non Instant Messaging Contacts, which means he cannot see you online or engage in conversation. But by clicking him you can write him an email.
You should be able to delete this address by right clicking the contact and clicking delete.
also,
How to hide “Non Instant Messaging Contacts”
Open your contact list window. At the top of the window select:
“Contacts” -> “Filter Contacts By” -> “Messenger Contacts Only”May 15, 2007 at 4:33 am #161141Dargon
MemberYea your probably right it must be from the 2 months period, since from time to time 1 contact seems to get deleted and automatically added to the non-instant messaging contacts, and im guessing that process deletes them from the other lists aswell, allow/block lists and such. including the who has added you to their list.
Thanks all.
-
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.