Home › Forums › Archives › Instant Messaging › Yahoo! Messenger Support › Why can’t I delete people!?
- This topic has 5 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 16 years, 11 months ago by
fresa.
-
AuthorPosts
-
July 26, 2009 at 3:39 am #30811
matttren
MemberI literally have 600 people on my yahoo messenger and it’s completely unmanageable … first i try to regroup people, then when i sign back into it, the groups don’t save to way i had them set up, then i start try to delete people from my contact list, and when i sign back online the same people who i just deleted are back on my list!
My buddy list needs mass restructuring!
Any advice?
July 26, 2009 at 1:59 pm #175331Doris Kenney
ParticipantIt’s a frustrating problem. Part of it has to do with how the contact list is stored with your Yahoo address book.
If you want to totally delete people, you should go to address.yahoo.com, login and make your deletions there. You can delete from just your messenger contact list (one by one in the contact details). Or, totally remove them from address book and messenger list (multiple contacts can be done at one time) from the main address book listing. Then next time you launch YM it should reflect those deletions.
As for the moving around, that’s a little trickier. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. Seems to be a server side thing. I’d go for the deletions first then go back and re-try the moves.
October 13, 2009 at 3:10 pm #175334fresa
Memberi just checked my contacts list and found an ID i did not add. it does not show up in my main YM list but in my connection list (in the address book). it is a very suspicious. i can’t add it to my ignore list. i can’t delete it. could you help me on this one? thanks so much for the help.
October 13, 2009 at 5:44 pm #175332Doris Kenney
ParticipantConnections are people you have invited/connected with on your Yahoo profile.
From your address book on the contacts tab, choose the drop down to view connections.
If you click on the name in question, you will see information about that contact and in the upper right corner of the informational pane you will see a “trash can” to delete the contact, or, underneath the contact name there is a choice to “Remove” the connection.
Have you tried both of these solutions and neither works?
October 13, 2009 at 7:09 pm #175333fresa
Memberhi! just checked it out. i did click on the name but there was no info about the contact. i have a few contacts and i know everyone. this one i don’t know (i entered a chatrm once and was told of a booter or whatever there. i tried changing aliases and he knows its me each time. suspicious huh). anyway,i saw no trash can nor remove option there (using ym for mac, btw) but saw a “block” button. blocked that name. i hope it works. thanks much, doris.
October 13, 2009 at 8:34 pm #175330Dermot
ParticipantRemember Yahoo filters denying and adding of buddies as with many of it’s messenger service payloads, if you have a big list and want to delete, only do a few at a time or any changes you make after that will not be reflected serverside as they would have been blocked.
-
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.