Home › Forums › Archives › Instant Messaging › Yahoo! Messenger Support › Y!M signs out when user switching
- This topic has 4 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 22 years, 5 months ago by
doc rock.
-
AuthorPosts
-
April 30, 2004 at 12:54 pm #3861
Jeff Hester
KeymasterI have noticed lately that when I go to leave my desk and I click the windows button and the ” L ” button that returns my computer to my log in screen, everytime I come back to it and log on my messenger has signed me out.
Anyone have any idea why its doing this ? Is it my computer or simply yahoo messenger?
Help!!!!
Signed out without notice.
Justified
EDIT: This is more suitable to the Yahoo! Messenger Forum. Since it is client specific. Computer Room is for general computer questions. Topic Moved.
April 30, 2004 at 11:26 pm #45827doc rock
MemberUnfortunately I have never had the luxury of having an office job so I am not certain about this. When you go back to your computer’s login screen, are you required to sign back in to your PC? I am thinking that when you do this, it automatically disconnects the computer from the internet as it goes into stand by. I will gladly accept a second opinion on this one though. In addition, if this is what you are in fact referring to, it is a windows feature that does this for security/privacy reasons. Your messenger is running on your “user profile.” By returning to the login screen for windows, you are basically logging off the PC account so that it is possible for a different user to log in, in which case, different accounts would be involved as far as the Windows Program is concerned. Its just a normal built-in safety feature for account privacy is all.
May 2, 2004 at 7:34 am #45824Jeff Hester
KeymasterThank you Doc, What you said made absolutely perfect sense. I just didn’t know if my computer was mal-functioning or if it was supposed to do this..
I appreciate the explaination and help.
Justified
May 2, 2004 at 2:38 pm #45826bamababe1234
MemberMine has been doing the same thing on my home computer….
May 4, 2004 at 3:42 pm #45825Netti
MemberIs there a setting in preferences, or in the task bar, that says something to the effect of “disconnect when I minimize”.?????
Thought I remembered seeing a bunch of setting like that in one version or another. About what exactly to do when you minimize or max messenger.
-
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.