Well there is an option that you can become invisible to everyone and then there is another other that you can have it so only ppl on your buddylist can see you…that might be it so it might not be on your end
Well I mean it depends on your problem…. http://remoteaway.com/ You can use that to control stuff from a different location. So if you were out you would just need a computer to reset your away message
You could also set up a idle message so that you would go idle after so long and ppl would find out that way
Hope that helps!